Congo joins East African Community trade bloc

African Union holds annual heads of state and government summit

NAIROBI, March 29 (Reuters) – The East African Community trade bloc admitted Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC) as its seventh member on Tuesday, the group said, increasing the market by half to 300 million people.

The EAC common market, which consists of Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, South Sudan, Tanzania and Uganda, was set up in 2010 to allow the free movement of goods and people across borders, and is one of the most advanced trading blocs on the continent.

To read full article click here: